Last Updated: Apr 16, 2013
URL: http://libguides.mhc.edu/art
Print Guide
- ART PROJECT POWERED BY GOOGLE
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
- ARTSTOR
Digital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
- CAMIO
Digital library of over 90,000 art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, representing a broad range of works of art from collections of prominent museums. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design.
- CREDO REFERENCE
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.
- GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Includes Arts and Humanities Through The Eras.
- GETTY RESEARCH INSTITUTE
- GROVE (OXFORD) ART ONLINE
Includes the full text of the 34 volume Dictionary of Art (Grove) updated online three times a year, as well as, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- METROPOLITAN MUSEUM OF ART
An authoritative overview of the history of art, illustrated by objects from the MMA's collections. Includes the
Helibrunn Timeline of Art History, the
Collection Database cataloguing works of art in the MMA's collections and thematic essays on a wide variety of topics in Art History. (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
- OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE
Search the full text of Oxford University Press
Art and Architecture. Titles include: A Dictionary of Architecture, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Dictionary of Art, A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
- VOGUE ARCHIVE
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.