Last Updated: May 17, 2013
URL: http://libguides.mhc.edu/music
Print Guide
- ALL-MUSIC GUIDE
Provides a framework for the exploration of all genres and sub-genres of popular music in the 20th century, as well as classical music from medieval to contemporary. Includes hundreds of essays, thorough discographies, biographical and critical information, as well as bibliographies. The site is searchable and provides extensive links to audio and video files. Free, but requires registration to access some features.
- ARTSTOR
Digital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
- CREDO REFERENCE
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.
- GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Includes Arts and Humanities Through The Eras and Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.
- GROVE (OXFORD) MUSIC ONLINE
Enhanced, online version of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, published in 2001. Full-text, searchable resource for scholarly articles on all aspects of music and musicians. Links to images, digital sound, and related sites. International in scope, covering both classical and popular music. Also includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Updated quarterly. (Oxford University Pr.)
- NAXOS MUSIC LIBRARY
Provides streaming audio of 85,000 tracks of classical, jazz, folk and world music, medieval to contemporary. Includes biographies, discographies and cover art
- OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE
Complete contents of more than 200 titles published by Oxford University Press, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books in 25 subject areas. Titles include: Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Book of Opera Singers, Grove Book of Operas, and Oxford Companion to Music.
- SMITHSONIAN FOLKWAYS
Smithsonian Folkways Recordings is the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution. Search or browse for artists by genre for brief articles, lists of recordings and audio samples. Site also provides resources for teachers including lesson plans and classroom activities.